​​The Negev district encompasses about half of Israel, from the northern boundary of Yoav Regional Council and Hof Ashkelon (south of Kastina junction) until Eilat in the south; from Eshkol regional council in the west until the Dead Sea and Tamar Regional Council in the east. The district spreads over 2.9 million acres of land, out of which about 200 thousand acres are agricultural land, which is 44% of total agricultural lands in Israel.

Until August 2005 – the time of the Separation Plan – the district handled also agricultural settlements in the Gaza region, and today handles most of Gush Katif evacuees. According to estimates, a total of about 2,500 farmers are active in the district.

The district's activity is held according to a number of state laws: the Settlement Law, the Planning and Building Law, the Drainage Law and the Investment Encouragement Law.

The district has units for financial agricultural planning, determining land uses, soil conservation, drainage, water engineering, agricultural training, and a Bedouin department. The district provides services for rural development and agricultural assistance while using the relative advantages of each agro-climatic area.


Organizational structure (in Hebrew)